Image 

This day’s diamond dawn exposed

A knowing spirit’s morphos grin to me,

Whose mad glee filled my eyes; announced

the sanctity of some new blood within me.

 

It spoke a name we have intoned before,

and named me bearer of such stuff;

named me holy and select, the source

of suffering hope, wonder-filled name.

 

I had been haunted much at late

by thoughts of family and of union.

But knowing the lot which fate had cast for me,

those pressing thoughts had dragged me down.

 

Now, air glides freely through my lungs and lower,

feeds that dormant hope, my appetite;

made more glowing warm which once had burned

when gold rewarded my fleshy virtues then.

 

Will he who has confessed his love for me,

accept this sign as proof of He who gave it?

Or will such thoughts also pull him down

to that dark place where I was without trust?

 

This thing announced even now seems moved,

as if sympathetic of some burden I must bear.

The psychic sap is heavy in its lightness.

As if to pull me down while lifting up.